Board of Directors

Thomas LEYSEN, Chairman

  • Chairman King Baudouin Foundation (2016-2021)
  • From 2011 to 2020, he was Chairman of KBC Group, a Belgian banking and insurance group working primarily in Belgium, Central Europe and Ireland
  • Chairman UMICORE,  a materials technology group with leading positions in battery materials, automotive catalysts and precious metals recycling
  • Chairman of Mediahuis, a media company which publishes a number of newspapers in Belgium, the Netherlands and Ireland
  • Member of the Trilateral Commission, European Round Table of Industrialists (ERT), and Global Advisory Council of Toyota Motor Corporation in Japan
  • Chairman of the Belgian Corporate Governance Commission
  • Board member of Codart, a worldwide association of curators

Brieuc VAN DAMME, Treasurer

  • CEO King Baudouin Foundation
  • Lecturer in Health Economics, Université Libre de Bruxelles (ULB)
  • Former Director-General of the National Institute for Health Insurance, Belgium

Hilary PEARSON, Secretary

  • President Philanthropic Foundations Canada (PFC) from 2001 to 2019
  • Co-chair federal Advisory Committee on the Charitable Sector
  • Director of CARE Canada, and Indspire
  • Former Director of Imagine Canada and the Stratford Shakespeare Festival of Canada
  • Member of the Order of Canada


  • P.Eng, M.A.Sc., ICD.D, President of MDCI consultants
  • Board Member Sépaq (Société des Etablissements de Plein Air du Québec)
  • Board Member Québec Oiseaux

Brenda EATON

  • Corporate Director (Chair of Westland Insurance; Chair of BC Ferries)
  • Chair, Max Bell Foundation; Chair, Granting and Community Initiatives Committee, Vancouver Foundation
  • Former Deputy Minister to the Premier; DM Finance; DM Energy; DM Social Services; Province of B.C.
  • Queen’s Golden Jubilee medal


  • Executive Chairman, Global Canada from 2015
  • Former Managing Director and Chief Business Officer of the World Economic Forum
  • Former Deputy Minister and President of Canada’s International Development Agency (CIDA)


  • Director of the King Baudouin Foundation (Brussels)
  • President of the European Policy Center
  • EU Sanctions Special Envoy of the European Commission
  • Senior Advisor at Steptoe and Johnson LLP
  • Former Senior Official of the European Commission (in particular Secretary General), and former Ambassador of the European Union to the United States


  • Former Vice President Calgary Foundation from 2006 to 2019
  • Member, STEP International Philanthropic Advisors Special Interest Group
  • Fellow, Institute of Canadian Bankers

Board Committees

Project Committee

Brieuc VAN DAMME – Treasurer

Hilary PEARSON – Secretary

Marie DUMONTIER – Member of the Board of Directors of Myriad Canada

Investment Committee

Ahmed FAHIM (Chair) – Managing Partner at Alapointe Capital

Brenda EATON – Member of the Board of Directors of Myriad Canada

Robert GREENHILL – Member of the Board of Directors of Myriad Canada

Benoît FONTAINE – Executive Director of Myriad Canada

Nominating and HR Committee

Thomas LEYSEN – Chairman of the Board

Brenda EATON – Member of the Board of Directors of Myriad Canada

David O’SULLIVAN – Member of the Board of Directors of Myriad Canada

Hilary PEARSON – Secretary of the Board of Directors of Myriad Canada